The Pan-American Federation of Neurological Societies (PAFNS): A New Regional Organization

Marco T. Medina, Gustavo C. Román

Research output: Contribution to journalEditorialpeer-review


The Pan-American Federation of Neurological Societies (PAFNS) was created on 15 November 2011 during the 20th World Congress of Neurology in Marrakech by virtue of the "Declaration of Morocco" signed by the WFN Latin American delegates and ratified on 5 March 2012 by delegates attending the 13th Pan-American Congress of Neurology in La Paz, Bolivia. On 20 March 2013 delegates attending the 65th Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Neurology in San Diego, California, USA, gave formal approval to the PAFNS Constitution. The neurological societies from the following countries have approved and signed the constitution as founding members and active ordinary members: Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela. The Ibero-American Stroke Society (SIECV), the Commission on Latin American Affairs of the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE) and the World Sleep Society have requested the status of Associate Members. The WFN and the American Academy of Neurology provided seed grants for the creation of the Pan-American Federation of Neurological Societies. PAFNS represents a major step for the improvement of regional neurological care, education and research.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)195-196
Number of pages2
JournalJournal of the Neurological Sciences
StatePublished - Jul 15 2016


  • Education
  • Federation
  • Latin America
  • Neurological societies
  • World Federation of Neurology

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Neurology
  • Clinical Neurology


Dive into the research topics of 'The Pan-American Federation of Neurological Societies (PAFNS): A New Regional Organization'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this