The History of Neurosurgery at Houston Methodist Hospital

Robert G. Grossman, Jonathan Lee, David S. Baskin, Richard Harper, Gavin W. Britz

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

2 Scopus citations


The history of neurosurgery in Texas is linked with the development over the past century of the Houston Methodist Hospital (HMH) from a 30-bed hospital in downtown Houston to an academic medical center with 900 beds in the Texas Medical Center. Neurosurgery at HMH has developed to meet the needs of the Houston Metropolitan Area, which has grown from 130,000 people in 1919 to 7 million people today. Neurosurgery at HMH has had steady growth and stable leadership with Dr. James Greenwood Jr. 1936–1980, Dr. Robert Grossman 1980–2013, and Dr. Gavin Britz 2013–present, as Chiefs of the Neurosurgical Service. HMH has been affiliated with 2 medical schools: Baylor College of Medicine 1950–2003 and Weill College of Medicine Cornell University 2004–present. Neurosurgical training began at HMH with the establishment of the Baylor College of Medicine Neurosurgery Residency Program with Dr. George Ehni as Program Director 1959–1979 and Dr. Robert Grossman as Program Director 1980–2006. Training has continued in the HMH residency program from 2006 to present with Dr. David Baskin as Program Director. As of 2019, 138 neurosurgical residents have been trained at HMH. The goals of delivering responsible patient care, advancing neurosurgical knowledge, and training the next generation of practitioners and teachers of neurosurgery have remained constant and have been met and remain the mission of the department.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)283-290
Number of pages8
JournalWorld neurosurgery
Early online dateJun 1 2020
StatePublished - Oct 1 2020


  • Houston
  • Houston Methodist Hospital
  • Neurosurgical history
  • Texas

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Surgery
  • Clinical Neurology


Dive into the research topics of 'The History of Neurosurgery at Houston Methodist Hospital'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this